image open today

Reserve your visit to the Archives & Researach Room by calling 226-909-2890 or by email at


Monday Closed
Tuesday 10 AM - 12 PM & 1 PM - 5 PM
Wednesday 10 AM - 12 PM & 1 PM - 5 PM
Thursday 10 AM - 12 PM & 1 PM - 5 PM
Friday 10 AM - 12 PM & 1 PM - 5 PM
Saturday 10 AM - 12 PM & 1 PM - 5 PM
Sunday Closed

Archives & Research Room

Monday Closed
Tuesday 10 AM - 12 PM & 1:30 PM - 4 PM
Wednesday 10 AM - 12 PM & 1:30 PM - 4 PM
Thursday 10 AM - 12 PM & 1:30 PM - 4 PM
Friday 10 AM - 12 PM & 1:30 PM - 4 PM
Saturday 10 AM - 12 PM & 1:30 PM - 4 PM
Sunday Closed

General Admission

Individual $8.00 + HST
Children $4.00 + HST
Student $6.00 + HST
Senior $6.00 + HST
Archives $6.00 + HST

Membership & Passes

Enjoy the many benefits of Membership. Not only will you receive FREE admission for a whole year, but so much more!

Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre​

33 Victoria Street North (in the town of Saugeen Shores)
Southampton, ON Canada N0H 2L0
Toll Free: 1-866-318-8889 | Phone: 519-797-2080 | Fax 519-797-2191

Get Involved


Our success is made possible, in part, by the support we receive through our strong relationships with you, our donors. Your generosity ensures that we will continue to inspire, educate and remain the premier destination of choice for exploring our history.


Volunteers are the building blocks of our Museum. All our activities and programs depend on the assistance of dedicated volunteers.

Bruce County House of Refuge

Home | Stories & Artefacts | Bruce County House of Refuge

If you wish to use or purchase any of these images, please contact

The idea of establishing a House of Refuge to care for Bruce’s aged and impoverished was first brought forward at the 1881 December session of County Council.  A motion was brought forward by Edward Leslie, representing Kincardine, and William Bradley, representing Greenock, that the County Clerk obtain information as to the costs and maintenance of such a facility.  It was motioned the information be received from the newly established House of Refuge in Wellington County.  During the same meeting, a motion was forwarded by the two Reeves of Carrick, William Dickison and James Johnston, that each township submit a report stating how much it was costing each of township to support their ages and impoverished.  Following these motions, a committee was established to consider the matter and they were in favour of establishing a House of Refuge.  However, the project was tabled due to “lack of enthusiasm”.

In 1888, the matter was brought forth again to County Council by Dr. De Whitt Martyn of Kincardine and Dr. W.S. Scott of Southampton.  Lieutenant Colonel James Henderson Scott was appointed chair of the committee and continued to work tirelessly towards having the home established, creating in-depth statistics and reports for both ratepayers and County Council.  The issue was put forth to Council in 1893, and it was put to a public vote – the citizens of Bruce turned it down.

Again, the issue was put forth to Council in 1897, and again it was put to a public vote early in 1898.  This time the citizens of Bruce voted yes to the House of Refuge.  Wasting no time, Council advertised for a suitable building location and settled that it should be located outside of Walkerton, Kincardine, Port Elgin or Paisley.  Each of these locations were visited by Council, but before a decision was made Council made a trip to Stratford to see the new House of Refuge built by Perth County.  They were so impressed they engaged the architect, Harry J. Powell of Stratford to create the plans, including any learned improvements and with the ability to house 125 people.

Walkerton became the site of the House of Refuge by County Council vote.  The land selected was 62 acres in area with 50 acres cultivated.  The building tender was awarded to Cawsey & Young of Stratford.  The cornerstone was laid June 24, 1898 by Lieut. Col. James Henderson, who had worked so tirelessly for the cause.  Construction was completed in December of 1899, costing the County $23,166.09.  The first “inmates”, as the residents were then called, moved in early January 1900.  The first keeper and matron were Mr. and Mrs. Joseph M. White, the first inspector William S. Gould, and the first physician assigned to the house by Council was Dr. George J. Dickison.

Through its time the House of Refuge saw three keepers, or superintendents, Joseph White, John Wiles and Russell Wiles.  The land was farmed by Frank Hehn and the residents.  They produced much of their own food, and sold produce, grain and hay.  The House of Refuge continued to operate until 1961, with the building being removed in 1962, to make way for the new County home, Brucelea Haven, which presently stands on its site.

To discover Bruce County House of Refuge related items in the online collection, Click Here

Share this:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest


Rise of Community links both the global and local impacts of technology. It reveals stories of community and technological growth within Bruce County that