Close this search box.


Please note: The Museum’s historic outdoor structures are now closed for the season!

Museum Hours

Monday 10 AM - 5 PM
Tuesday 10 AM - 5 PM
Wednesday 10 AM - 5 PM
Thursday 10 AM - 5 PM
Friday 10 AM - 5 PM
Saturday 10 AM - 5 PM
Sunday Closed

Archives Hours

Monday 10 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday 10 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday 10 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday 10 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday 10 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday 10 AM - 12 PM and 1 PM - 4:30 PM
Sunday Closed

General Admission

Individual $8.00 + HST
Children (4-12) $4.00 + HST
Student $6.00 + HST
Senior $6.00 + HST
Archives $6.00 + HST
Children (3 & under) FREE

Membership & Passes

Enjoy the many benefits of Membership. Not only will you receive FREE admission for a whole year, but so much more!


                            Fees & DiscountsJoin Today

Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre​

33 Victoria Street North (in the town of Saugeen Shores)
Southampton, ON Canada N0H 2L0

Toll Free: 1-866-318-8889 | Phone: 519-797-2080 | Fax 519-797-2191

Get Involved


Our success is made possible, in part, by the support we receive through our strong relationships with you, our donors. Your generosity ensures that we will continue to inspire, educate and remain the premier destination of choice for exploring our history.


Volunteers are the building blocks of our Museum. All our activities and programs depend on the assistance of dedicated volunteers.

Bruce County’s Historic Municipalities and Newspapers

Bruce County’s Historic Newspaper Locations

Please note: This map identifies the general town / village location of Bruce County’s Historic newspapers. The marked locations do not accurately reflect street addresses for newspaper offices.

Bruce County’s Historic Newspapers by Municipality

The Chesley Enterprise
The Paisley Advocate (and Paisley Advocate & General Advertiser) 
The Paisley News 
The Tara Leader

The Bruce Herald
The Bruce Herald & Times 
The Bruce Times 
The Walkerton Herald & Times
The Walkerton Telescope 

The Bruce Reporter and Kincardine Advertiser
The Bruce Reporter / The Reporter 
The Bruce Vindicator and General Advertiser for the Counties of Bruce, Huron and Grey 
The Kincardine News 
The Kincardine Reporter 
The Kincardine Review / The Review 
The Western Canadian Commonwealth
The Watchman [Tiverton] 

The Teeswater News

The Beacon and Southampton Beacon
Port Elgin Times

The Ripley Express 
The Lucknow Sentinel, visit Huron County’s Digitized Newspaper Collection.

For more information about the history of these newspapers, visit Bruce County Historic Newspaper Histories.

Bruce County’s Former Municipalities 

Between 1998 and 1999 Bruce County’s 16 townships, as well as towns and villages, amalgamated into eight municipalities, as outlined below.

Arran Township
Elderslie Township

Brant Township
Greenock Township

Kincardine (Town)
Bruce Township
Kincardine Township

Lion’s Head
Eastnor Township
Lindsay Township
St. Edmunds Township

Carrick Township
Culross Township

Port Elgin 
Saugeen Township 

Albemarle Township 
Amabel Township 

Huron Township 
Kinloss Township 

Visit Ontario Locator for assistance in determining in which former township other hamlets or communities were situated.

Click map to view larger.