The Last Frontier *NEW! Opens June 15 2017*
This exhibit pays homage to the County’s Pioneer and works in conjunction with the Museum’s Permanent galleries to complete Bruce County’s history from the 1850s to the 1900s by telling the stories that occurred from the first Shanty through to the cultural development of the General Store.
Discover the important role general stores played in Bruce County’s communities, meet the storekeeper, and browse the store’s inventory using interactive screens.
Explore the rich marine history of Bruce County’s lighthouses, lifesaving efforts, shipwrecks and fishing industry. Come aboard the HMS General Hunter, the War of 1812 battleship, where an exciting virtual experience awaits you as you feel what it would be like on the ship during a storm, and fire a canon during the bombardment of Fort Detroit.
Discover the history of First Nations people in Bruce County through material culture found at local archaeological sites.
Dog for woolly mammoth bones, study fossils, touch our living iceberg, and learn how prehistoric tropical seas and ice ages shaped Bruce County’s landscape.
Experience the life of a soldier during the First World War. Discover the stories of the 160th Bruce Battalion, Nursing Sisters, those serving in the Royal Air Force and on the home front. Enlist, and experience life in the trenches first hand.
This project has been made possible in part by the Government of Canada. Ce projet a été rendu possible en partie grâce au gouvernement du Canada.
Salvaged from the wreck of the 1866 schooner Azov, the Helix rises 15 feet from an outdoor alcove. Discover the entire Helix History.
Travel with the Kennedy brothers as they made their way to Bruce County, and learn what life was like for early settlers. Made from Bruce County logs and to original measurements, the shanty is a replica of the Kennedy brothers’ original shanty and represents the first step in Bruce County settlement.
Once located at Stokes Bay, on the Bruce Peninsula, the 103 year old range light was saved from destruction when it was decommissioned by the Canadian Coast Guard. In April of 2009, the range light moved to its home at the museum overlooking Fairy Lake, where volunteers spent the summer season restoring it.